thisistheverge: Noir to near-future: ‘Looper’ director Rian…

thisistheverge:

Noir to near-future: ‘Looper’ director Rian Johnson talks sci-fi, Twitter, and the fate of film

Bryan Bishop interview Rian Johnson:

I mean for me, I’ve shot film, I’ll hopefully shoot the next one on film, because I just feel that film is still the highest-quality capturing format that we have, and it’s just the best looking. I tend to bristle a little bit when film gets put in the realm of nostalgia, where that ends up being assigned as its main merit. I think digital is moving forward at a very fast pace and it will overtake film, just in terms of quality I think, and luckily it’s moving very quickly because film is going away very quickly. You know the [Arri] Alexa is a great camera, and the stuff shot on it looks fantastic. But it’s still, I just don’t think it looks as good as film.

via Tumblr http://barcampsarasota.tumblr.com/post/30527118465

Leave a Reply

